List of Important Dates for 2020 in Australia

The new year is here and with it, all of our resolutions to get fitter, spend less and be more organised. To help you out, we’ve put together a list of all the important dates for 2020 in Australia!

If one of your new year’s resolutions was to be more organised, this list of important dates for 2020 in Australia will help get you started! All you need to do is open up your smartphone’s calendar, put in the dates and then wait for the notification to remind you when something is happening you need to know about.

Add in further dates like birthdays, anniversaries, recurring medical appointments specific to you and anything else you’d like to keep on top of. So you can keep organised, you may also like to add reminders of up-and-coming events or appointments a few days or weeks in advance. 

Feature image by STIL on Unsplash

12 Months of Important Dates for 2020 in Australia

January

Wednesday, 1 January 2020: New Year’s Day

Saturday, 25 January 2020: Chinese New Year

Sunday, 26 January 2020: Australia Day

Monday, 27 January 2020: Australia Day Public Holiday

February

Friday, 14 February 2020: Valentine’s Day

March

Monday, 2 March 2020: Labour Day (Western Australia)

Monday, 9 March 2020: Labour Day/May Day (Victoria)

Monday, 9 March 2020: Canberra Day (ACT)

Monday, 9 March 2020: Eight Hour Day (Tasmania)

Monday, 9 March 2020: Adelaide Cup (Victoria)

Tuesday, 17 March 2020: St. Patrick’s Day

Saturday, 21 March 2020: Harmony Day

April

Friday, 1 April 2020: April Fool’s Day

Friday, 10 April 2020: Good Friday

Friday, 10 April to Monday 13 April 2020: Songkran (Thai New Year)

Saturday, 11 April 2020: Holy Saturday (Most Regions)

Sunday, 12 April 2020: Easter Sunday

Monday, 13 April 2020: Easter Monday

Thursday, 23 April 2020: Ramadan Begins (Dates May Vary)

Saturday, 25 April 2020: ANZAC Day

May

Monday, 4 May 2020: Labor Day (Northern Territory)

Tuesday, 5 May 2020: Cinco de Mayo

Sunday, 10 May 2020: Mother’s Day

Saturday, 24 May 2020: Ramadan Ends (Dates May Vary)

June

Monday, 1 June 2020: Western Australia Day (Western Australia)

Monday, 1 June 2020: Reconciliation Day (Western Australia)

Monday, 8 June 2020: Queen’s Birthday (All, Excluding WA & QLD)

July

Friday, 24 July 2020: Darwin Show Day (Darwin Only)

August

Monday, 3 August 2020: Picnic Day (Northern Territory)

Wednesday, 12 August 2020: Brisbane Ekka Show Day (Brisbane Only)

September

Sunday, 6 September 2020: Father’s Day

Friday, 25 September 2020: AFL Grand Final Friday (Victoria)

Monday, 28 September 2020: Queen’s Birthday Western Australia

October

Monday, 5 October 2020: Queen’s Birthday (Queensland)

Monday, 5 October 2020: Labour Day (ACT, NSW, SA)

Saturday, 31 October 2020: Halloween

November

Monday, 2 November 2020: Recreation Day (Tasmania)

Tuesday, 3 November 2020: Melbourne Cup (Victoria)

Wednesday, 11 November 2020: Remembrance Day

Saturday, 14 November 2020: Diwali/Deepavali

December

Thursday, 24 December 2020: Christmas Eve

Friday, 25 December 2020: Christmas Day

Saturday, 26 December 2020: Boxing Day

Monday, 28 December 2020: Boxing Day Holiday

Thursday, 31 December 2020: New Year’s Eve

Other Important Dates to Mark in Your 2020 Calendar

Monthly Smoke Alarm Test

On each smoke alarm, there will be a little button used to test your smoke detector. A beep indicates your batteries are still good, while no sound means your batteries are empty and need replacing ASAP. 

Once you’ve replaced a battery, always test again. If you do not hear a noise again and they are new batteries, you will need a new smoke alarm.

Twice-Yearly Teeth Clean & Other Medical Checkups

Along with your normal brushing and flossing routine, your teeth need a professional checkup, scale and clean at least once every 6 months. As well as keeping your chompers in good condition, regular visits to your dentist will help you sort out any little problems before they get bigger.

Fire & Storm Season Preparation

While the weather is lovely, it can be hard to want to even think about the possible devastation storms and bushfires can bring. However, being prepared for them will save you at least some peace of mind in knowing you’ve done all you can, if the worst were to happen later on.

Check out our guide for preparing for bushfire season and storm season for some extra help as to what to important dates to mark in your calendar.

Annual Professional Carpet Clean

You could have every carpet cleaning tip under your belt, but none of it will matter if you’re not regularly having your carpet professionally cleaned. Booking in a steam clean of your carpet will remove deep-embedded dirt, grime and bacteria that loves to wiggle down deep into the fibres. 

Clean carpets help extend the life of your floor covering, as well as help keep your home healthy for you and your family, so you can see why it’s an important date to mark in your 2020 calendar.

Twice-Yearly Car Servicing

Putting off your scheduled car service can end up costing you more in the long run. During a service, your mechanic will do all the essentials like topping up your fluids and replacing fuel filters, as well as ensuring there aren’t any lurking problems you may not be aware of.

If you’ve been putting off your twice-yearly or 30,000km (whichever comes first) service, put it in your calendar now and call your local mechanic!

You can find a mechanic near you on localsearch.com.au!

Find the best Mechanics in your area

I'm located in

room

      Sarah Russo

      UX Content Writer

      Sarah Russo is a UX Content Writer at Localsearch with a decade of experience in traditional and digital marketing. She has written for and assisted in the social media and marketing strategies for many different industries, including real estate, medical, health and fitness, trades and beauty. When she isn’t nose deep in data, SEO research or her content strategy, Sarah is a gym junkie, foodie and gamer with a brain full of random facts that come in handy far more often than you would think. As a digital marketing all-rounder and lifestyle specialist, her articles provide insight into marketing, advertising and branding for small businesses on the Localsearch Business Blog, as well as some handy lifestyle tips on the Localsearch Blog.